Newbie Looking To Learn And Build

Wartung

Baseband Member
Hi guys,

I'm kind of new to the IT world. I've always played games and whatnot but since computers really took off I kind of lost track of things. Since then I've owned laptops as well. I sort of knew about the reliability problems, though I'd buy them anyways. Now I see that I should have just been putting my money into PC's all along as my latest 'gaming laptop' is crapping out. Gaming laptop is kind of an oxymoron, isn't it? I didn't really realize that even though I had enough friends tell me on several occasions to forget about a laptop.

So, now I'm going to build a PC, well, I'll probably build more than one. Two or three at least. My boss, the other day, gave me his old tower and it still has a few pieces in it. I'll probably only use the tower and the power supply from it, those are pretty standard, right? I'm thinking of just buying some cheap parts and putting something quick together so I have a backup when the notebook craps out. Then, slowly acquire some parts and build something worthwhile.

I see people coming on here and saying hey I need this for this much and someone comes on and says buy this this and this, and they buy it. I'd love for you guys to just tell me what I should buy, but I want to know about what I'm buying and understand what makes it good and what I'm looking for. Then, I want to get it for real cheap, like, wait around on the internet for weeks and when some crazy motherboard goes on sale somewhere, some great deal, get it then. Wait for some wicked deal, get all your parts on sale. This is my kind of plan. I have no idea if I will succeed (though I got a power supply and a tower for free so I'm already doing pretty good), though I will be working on this project for the foreseeable future.