Building a PC??

rickyi14

Baseband Member
hello, im new here...so ive been thinking on building a computer from scratch! i dont have a clue about it tho lol

so the main reason i want this desktop is to run programes like AUTOCAD, Google sketch up and games, especially Farming simulator 2011.

any help on what sort of components i would need would be appreciated?
ive been thinking of,
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T so far, not sure what kind of motherboards graphics cards i should look at that match.
i want 8GB ram
and at least 1TB harddrive

Ello, Ello
Newbie to Newbie here :p since we're both new xD
Any ways straight to the point, I'm surprised you're considering to build a computer from scratch thought without the general knowledge of the components needed. Anyhow, Judging on the things you want your computer to be capable of doing, I'm guessing it is for more graphical type of work, but for me to cad or 3d designing programmes seems to be graphic card intense,
However on the road to helping you, I'd appreciate it if you'd tell me a few things
- Budget
- The types of games you are planning to play
- Reason for choosing the AMD Phenom II X6 1100T

Thank you :D

Hi, thanks for getting back! I'm not really worried about building it, its more choosing the right components i dont understand. Yea the computer will be used for drawing and 3d modeling of buildings etc. They take up quite alot of room!
Right so id really like to keep it to £600 mark....or i could put it up a few hundred if necessary, or cheaper! lol
Games im planning to play are Football manager and mainly Farming simulator!
i just read about the AMD Phenom II X6 1100T online and read alot of reviews, if you could reccomend a better one it would be appreciated!
Farming sim requirements

Microsoft Windows XP, Windows Vista or Windows 7
  • 2.0 GHz Intel or equivalent AMD processor
  • Nvidia Geforce 6800 Series, ATI Radeon X850, S3 Chrome 430 GT or better (min 256 MB VRAM)
  • 1 GB RAM