Building New Computer - Help?

jdrum10j

Baseband Member
Hey errbody, I'm building a computer for my brother's studio and was looking for some advice. His hardware/software is only 32-bit compatible, but I haven't decided whether I should do Vista or XP on there. Any thoughts as to which would be faster?

This computer won't be used for internet, movies, gaming, or anything else non-recording related. I'm just trying to get something that's fast enough so he can monitor tracks in real time with no latency and can run his software without any glitches or lagging.

This is my first build, so any help would greatly be appreciated, but this is what I have so far. His budget is around $400-$450. The OS, monitor, and peripherals are all taken care of already.

Here's what I got so far:

Processor
RAM (I know Vista/XP will only see 3GB, right?)
Motherboard
Hard Drive
Case and PSU

I didn't list everything, only the essentials really. I can take care of the CD/DVD drive and stuff, but just wanted to get an opinion for that setup. Anything I should swap out or lose?

Also, I'm going to need a video card for the board I have listed. Granted that I keep the board, any suggestions for a cheap card? Like I said, it'll be used for recording, not gaming.

Thanks!

yeah, you have picked some pretty good parts for what he wants to do and the budget.....

a video card i would go for at that price would be like a 9400 or 9600 gt..... that would only run you about 40-70 bucks

or, if you want to go a bit cheaper, go an 8500 GT or something (35-45ish)

yeah, you have picked some pretty good parts for what he wants to do and the budget.....

a video card i would go for at that price would be like a 9400 or 9600 gt..... that would only run you about 40-70 bucks

or, if you want to go a bit cheaper, go an 8500 GT or something (35-45ish)

Cool, cool. I'll check them out. Thanks!

Thanks, I'm excited for it!

Hopefully all goes smoothly...

But if not, I'll be here getting help. ;]