Question on Serials, updates and activation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clarence

In Runtime
I'm relatively new in I.T. :angel:but just wondering as I've heard friends talking and so on...."Lets just say two PC's with a Microsoft OS carrying the same activation serial....I'm supposing if Micorsoft updates is turned on - on both PC's they will revoke one? or both PC's might crash? is this true?:confused:What about a cracked OS from a torrent site is this safe and go undetected by microsoft?.......I want some info on this please will be helpful............

Finally, what about an Antivirus carrying a cracked serial and still being to update virus definitions can the antivirus vendor detect this?

I find these issues a bit puzzling can someone discuss this with me..:)

For Microsoft, they can and do detect this. I've seen them do everything form disabling key windows components needed to make the computer anything other than a fancy paperweight until you give it a valid key, to completely disable the computer requiring a full reformat. Considering it's also illegal, they'd also have enough info to send the cops out to you and arrest you if so desired.

Same thing with anti-virus software assuming the company is worth what normal people pay for only they'd just disable their own software.

Bottom line, cracked (and illegal) software is never safe to use.

Agree with Celegrom, although it is certainly tempting and easy enough to do it is not recommended. You also have to be careful if you don't work on it yourself.... if you have it worked on at computer stores and whatnot, most are required to rat you out if they see even the slightest hint of something related to torrents or other illegal activity.