IP question...I am a newbie, please be gentle

Seth

Beta member
I don't know if this question has anything to do with security but it has a bit to do with privacy. Here is my story:

I was invited on a forum by some friends. I gave them all of my info and they sighned me up. Someone I know signed up as well, that was not invited but signed up via regular registration which was allowed.
We shared the same static IP address (I think it was static because it was a govt. computer), he posted, I did not but sometimes I would browse through the post.

During the holidays he lives close by and came over and used my personal computer. He logged onto the internet and posted on the forum. The remark he made was directed to a mutual friend of ours, he did not know that this person browsed through the forum. Anyway he posted something that was not that offensive but rather obnoxious and childish. It had something to do with a girl we had known in highschool and weight gain.
She read the post and became upset.
I figured that my friend would not get in trouble because he is anonymous.
I get a telephone call from one of the moderators asking if I was posting under two different names. I told the moderator "no" and told the moderator that it had been a while since I posted anything. The moderator which is a friend, said that someone knew for a fact that it was me because they could tell it was from my personal computer.
I have never posted on the forum from my PC.
I denied all charges and the moderator was obviously shaken because this poor girl's feelings were hurt. Needless to say, I was a bit upset too.
I figured they tracked this information by finding by IP address BUT
I think my service changes my IP address every 72 hours.
In addition, I read on one site that any complaints go through ISP before they can reach you and that getting personal information like the names via ip address is illegal.