Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Cyber Safety and Computer Security
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 12-27-2005, 11:38 PM   #1
In Runtime

Default Zipped Files & Viruses

Is it true that if a file remains zipped, even if it contains a virus, you can't get it?

Can a person get viruses just from surfing the net, without downloading anything?

Also, if you had/have viruses, and you wanna transfer MP3s (just an example) over to a new computer, should you do it, or can they attach to music files as well? I would think simply scanning the files you wish to transfer would suffice, but I'm not an expert at this, so...

Legion Kreinak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 03:22 AM   #2
Golden Master

Default Re: Zipped Files & Viruses

You can get a Viruses anyway possible. Even while surfing the net. If there is are holes in software, there are hackers to, well, exploit them.

I'm not sure about the zipped file question though.

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 06:36 AM   #3
Golden Master

Send a message via MSN to mammikoura

Not sure about the zipped files.
But u can get viruses by just being connected to the internet, without doing anything.
And to answer the 3rd question I have never encountered a virus that attaches itself to music files etc. Usually the viruses are located in the windows folder.
And a few times I have saved some files to an external hdd then reformatted (because of a virus) and then taken the files to my hdd from the external one.
And no viruses came with them.
Old 12-28-2005, 09:47 AM   #4
Daemon Poster

Send a message via MSN to reece296 Send a message via Yahoo to reece296

I don't think you can get a virus from a zipped folder. Because when you download (I think it is zipped files over msn) it says once you open it you could get virus if 1 is contained but not before.
reece296 is offline   Reply With Quote