Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Cyber Safety and Computer Security
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Closed Thread

Old 06-26-2004, 06:43 PM   #1
Beta Member

Unhappy Plz Help!!!

Right ok I'm not good with comps at all so this may be a stupid question to u's but is there any way to find out some1's password on a forum? Coz if yaz new how it wud be a great help

Old 06-27-2004, 03:55 AM   #2
Daemon Poster

Default Re: Plz Help!!!

Very lame posting that here... ...

Old 06-27-2004, 10:21 AM   #3
Guru

Send a message via MSN to Lord Kalthorn

Haha! And we would tell you that why?
Old 06-27-2004, 10:30 AM   #4
Site Team

I suppose if you had their email address and knew the password for that then you could use the forgot password option (If it is present) to get a new password sent.

With a little guesswork, (If you know the person very well) you could try to guess it.

If you were very good at hacking (and I assume you are not) you could use the webserver to send you the password from the database,

You'd need to display a PHP of conf file as plain text to get the database apssword from the server, then you'd create a page to select the username and password from the users table.

that is of course assuming that the password was not hashed before it was saved.

Of course I assume that because you couldn't think of these yourself, you won't be able to do any of these things. (which is why unlike LK I see no problems in suggesting these ideas to you, I'm confident in the fact that you wouldn't even know where to begin)...

I assume your next post will regard either social engineering or webserver hacking?
Old 06-27-2004, 10:52 AM   #5
Guru

Lol; I didn't say it cause there would be more compotent people watching who don't perhaps know of the existance of the config file.
Old 06-27-2004, 11:04 AM   #6
In Runtime

Send a message via AIM to Itsme Send a message via MSN to Itsme

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mutya