help

iluvslp

Solid State Member
hello im new to this forums and i am a computer noob but i hope u guys can help me with my problem. When im surfing the web, i get another window where some program called winantivirus pro scans my computer and gives me a total of 249 viruses i supposively have on my comp, then it asks me if i want to download it. this happens randomly when im online. Is there any way i can stop this from happening? :confused:

Get a pop up blocker, and by sounds/reading,
Get some/a, anti spyware program(s)

Google;

Suggestions;

Ad-Aware (lastest version)
Spybot (lastest version)

Also its good to have a anti-virus aswell.

Im sure others have more suggestions..

Have you tryed removing it? I read up on it and some people said they cant remove it so....
C:\Windows\DownloadedProgramFiles\UWA5PLP_0001_0721NetInstaller.exe would be the place it would be I think..

I assume you already looked in Control Panel -> Add/Remove programs, and did not find it?

You need to disable it from starting up when you log-in. One good way is to download and run Autoruns from: http://www.sysinternals.com/Utilities/Autoruns.html
Use it to scan your system. Use the "Hide Micorsoft Entries" option to reduce the list, then un-check anything that pertains to that program. Then reboot and it should be gone.

... Get a pop up blocker. Those windows are just spam. And I suggest getting norton antivirus or another antivirus/firewall. You will DEF. need one of those unless you want to ruin your comp.

Yea, I just asumed it was a program that wouldnt go away from what I read, my bad :) so... yea what Chaos said, a pop up blocker would be best :)

Steff said:
Ad-Aware is also good if your not willing to pay anything.