Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Cyber Safety and Computer Security
Join Computer forums Today

Old 04-19-2013, 05:15 AM   #1
Beta Member
Default eCrime/ Cybercrime

Hi, I am a researcher working for Mark Johnson, helping with his next book, 'eCrime'. This follows on from his previous titles, 'Demystifying Communications Risk' (2012) and 'Cybercrime, Security & Digital Intelligence', due out this August.

I have been asked to find out how practitioners define "eCrime" and how you normally distinguish between it and "Cybercrime". Mark has his own definitions, but your views would be very helpful as they will help us to refine or modify ours.

LouiseB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 07:30 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
Default Re: eCrime/ Cybercrime

I'm not sure if there really is a difference between "eCrime" and "Cybercrime". I think the terms could be used interchangeably.

FX-8350 @ 4.7 cooled by H80, 32GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 2133, Asus Sabertooth 990FX, 2x Radeon HD 7850 2GB in X-fire, 500GB Samsung 850 Evo, 4TB Seagate, 3TB WD Black, 2x 1TB WD RED in RAID 0
OhSnapWord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 08:06 AM   #3
Site Team

My first thought is that I've never heard of eCrime. My second thought is that it sounds exactly the same as Cybercrime.
Don't take life too seriously -- no one gets out alive. Plus, who wants to arrive to the hereafter in pristine condition wearing a suit and tie?
I want to slide in sideways, worn out, used up, hair a mess, clothes tattered, & screaming, "Whooo! What a ride!"
jmacavali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 09:06 AM   #4
Baseband Member

eCrime I would assume is financial, i.e theft of bank details or identities. Cybercrime I would again assume its the writing of malicious code or viruses, the kind of thing that messes with various kinds of infrastructure.
Branjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 05:45 AM   #5
In Runtime