Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Cyber Safety and Computer Security
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 11-04-2007, 11:27 AM   #1
bev
Solid State Member

Default can my ip be hacked ?

sorry as I am sure this has been asked many times but is it possible for someone to use my ip address to make it look like I am visiting sites and possibly sending e mails?
Im not very technical minded with the ins and outs of computers but I really need to know if I may have been hacked.
Thanks

bev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 12:14 PM   #2
Golden Master

Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: can my ip be hacked ?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IP_address_spoofing
i have a feeling its mainly on your own network, not sure about the internet

Old 11-04-2007, 09:39 PM   #3
BSOD

Wink Re: can my ip be hacked ?

Quote:
can my ip be hacked ?
No. However, the system 'assigned' to that IP address could possibly be hack-able.

Quote:
sorry as I am sure this has been asked many times but is it possible for someone to use my ip address to make it look like I am visiting sites and possibly sending e mails?
It's easy to spoof IP addresses, email headers etc... but the odds of it actually happening to you and someone using your IP address are very very slim.

Quote:
Im not very technical minded with the ins and outs of computers but I really need to know if I may have been hacked.

Heres an easy one; whats your OS? Does your system run/behave/act a different than usual? Do you see files/folders on your system you didnt install? etc...
last but least why do you think your system was hacked? It's possible espically if you don't know sh1t about computers.
0x0161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 05:15 PM   #4
bev
Solid State Member

Thanks for the replies
I am running Windows XP. using Virgin