Intel vs. AMD CPU's: practical reliability and life span.

Smart_Guy

Fully Optimized
Greetings!

So, in the old days I heard that AMD CPU's didn't take heat and banging as much as Intel CPU's did. That was in the past, how's it now?

This of course does not mean AMD CPU's can't take a beating per se (if this is how the expression works).

Any of you have long-time experiences with AMD CPU's to change that? Preferably with heavy use, stress running and overclocking.

I personally have/had some with Intel CPU's. Some of them are +10 years old now and still working fine. My main PC has a 7 year-old and overclocked for 2 years now and from the looks of it I'll keep using it for years to come (i5 3570k OC'ed to 4.4GHz), God-willing.

I know ~10 years is not good to judge, but that's what I have to share.

Have at ya!

I've been using AMD since ~2003 or so, all the way back to a socket A 2000+. I have never had any problems with thermals or overclocking but I will readily admit that I haven't been heavy into overclocking.

During the P4 era it was Intel that put out the space heaters. The current crop are much better heat-wise that the "good old days".

AMD tends to be a little more heavy handed with wattage than Intel but the heat output is about the same as Intel's. The days of comparing clock speeds are way gone. You can check benchmarks to get an idea of theoretical performance but synthetics are not always comparable with real world results.

For me, you go with what your budget can afford. I am current running a R5 1600. it has six cores, 12 threads and runs like a champ. It would have cost me almost double to get the same from Intel.

I'll agree that Ryzen CPUs gives you great bang for the buck but for me Intel is always better.

I'm running the R5-2600 and it kick butt but I have random freezes. It happening less often now that I found a couple of settings in the BIOS to change. Since the second change a few days ago no freezes.

So far so good.