Dead Mobo?

Robbie77

Beta member
Hi, New Member---my first post---hopefully right place--if not please correct!
Problem---I have a Fujitsu P5905 Desktop, ---with a D2151 MB. This has been a reserve PC and not used for sometime. I wanted to clean it up to sell. Plugged in --power on---and--nothing! Power LED shows.
No USB functions--no Keyboard/Mouse, HDD doesn't run. No beeps either.
Processor gets warm and the cooler fan runs. Both DVD and CD-RW Drives have power. I checked out all RAM in other Desktop--no problems--Changed PSU --no change. There is nothing else to check out--No graphic Card etc. I took the MB out to check for anything obvious--nothing found. Refitted and checked all cabling---everything fine.
Fujitsu not much help---just say it's the MB gone bad---not sure I believe that---they suggest sending it in for repair. That would probably be more than a replacement MB.
I'm no great expert with Computer troubleshooting, so if anyone here can point to some possible reason for this, I'd be happy to try it. The PC never gave me any problems before---up to about a month ago last use.
Thanks Robbie

Unplug everything, HDD, CD rom, any daughter boards etc from the motherboard except the power supply. If the POST works then your MB and power supply are okay. From your OP you seem to suggest that that is what you did. If that is the case and you have sustituted a known good power supply then the only thing left is the mother board. You are right it would be cheaper to buy a new mother board, assuming you can use the same RAM and CPU in the new one, than it would be to get it repaired.

Hi Pete, Thanks for speedy response---wasn't really expecting a solution I suppose. First thought was Processor, but that wouldn'taffect USB useage etc.