Thoughts on first pc build

JackM512

Beta member
Hi, I'm new to these forums, and i have decided that I would like to build a pc, as my current computer (lenovo t410 netbook) just doesnt cut it for many games at all, so here is my planned partslist

CPU: Intel Core i5-4460 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H97M-D3H Micro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard
Memory: Kingston HyperX Fury Black 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
Storage: Western Digital Blue 1TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB Video Card
Case: NZXT S340 (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case
Power Supply: EVGA 500W 80+ Certified ATX Power Supply
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Home OEM (64-bit)
Total: £529.26

If there is anything i should change, just say. It's my first build, so I'm not sure how good it is. My budget is £530 ($800, 751 eur)

Thanks

Depends on how long you want it to last/how long you want to be able to use it for before it becomes effectively obsolete. If you want to add longevity to your PC, I'd make the following changes:

1. Add an SSD as a boot drive. Single biggest 'user experience' upgrade you can make, and SSDs cost £ for £ about the same as mechanical drives do - you can pick up basic SSDs for £30-50. Doesn't have to be big to be a boot drive, and you can always add more mechanical storage later.

2. Up-spec the GPU. 750Ti is a decent low to mid range card, but there are better price-2-performance options out there. The price for performance killer at the moment is the GTX 970 (in my opinion). Should last you a bit longer, and they usually overclock well for free extra performance.

3. Opt for a higher wattage PSU - 500W gold rated will be fine for now, but if you want to upgrade the GPU to something meatier in the future, or add a second GPU or whatever, you'll probably be more comfortable in the 650-750W range with 80+ bronze or gold.

Adding to what Darkseeker said:

1. Yep, SSDs are brilliant so I'd recommend adding one