Site Merger with Techist

I work in IT, but I'd still consider myself an amateur (probably because I break more than I fix...) :p

It seems like a nice forum with nice people to be honest, I've recently registered there as "cb600fshornet", and I haven't seen an argument yet...

setishock
Golden Master

It's taken 10 years to get to 9328 posts. There was an incident a while back where members got the post counts scrubbed off. Somebody hit the recalculate post counts button in the admin control panel. A lot of members post counts are not a true reflection of what all they have posted. Some one got careless. I'm short about 300 posts.

My understanding of VB is some times when databases are merged not all of the member data ports over. I've read a lot of horror stories over at VB.org where that happened. And unless you have a backup you had to rebuild the post counts by hand.
If that happens it will be for sure goodbye. I've stuck it out here for 10 years and would not put up with that for one nano second.

The logical course of action is to make copies of both forums and put then on a non public test server. Test the merger process to see how it goes along and how it comes out. If good then move the merged forum to the live server and point the DNS to that one. If not so good you haven't damaged the two lives forums and we can continue as is until you figure out what happened and remedy it.

If you plan to merge two live forums together, you're playing with fire. If something goes wrong, and Murphy is alive and well, trust me, it's going to be a disaster.

setishock
Golden Master

It's taken 10 years to get to 9328 posts. There was an incident a while back where members got the post counts scrubbed off. Somebody hit the recalculate post counts button in the admin control panel. A lot of members post counts are not a true reflection of what all they have posted. Some one got careless. I'm short about 300 posts.