Antec Nine Hundred custom cable management.

pidevildog07

Baseband Member
Anyone know of any places that do case modding in MD? The reason I ask is because cable management has been a nightmare and this is my first build so I want to make sure that it's done right the first time. I've installed all the parts and cabling and it's a mess. I uninstalled and reinstalled all the cabling several times and it still looks like shit and looks like the cabling joined at the psu is partially blocking the bottom most fan. Also wondering what people's experiences so far are with the psu being mounted fan down as there's only about an 1/8th inch of space in between it and the bottom of the case.

Unless you have a vent hole in the bottom of the case like my Antec P280 has, yes the fan goes up. Yes it does help a little to suck some of the heat out.
And considering this is your first build, yes you got it wrong.

I went back and flipped it over now I'm having problems with the front usb connections when trying to navigate the bios. The rear ones don't have this problem. Thank you for your replies.

With the Antec 900, you have to double check the cables coming from the front of the case. The Antec 900 has cables that should be labeled correctly (if I recall, mine were labeled "USB"), and those cables need to be plugged into the board. There is documentation for this in your motherboard manual, more than likely.

As setishock mentioned, with this case, you want to face the PSU fan up. The fan will act as an intake, and will pull hot air from the GPU. There should be an additional fan in the back of the PSU that is acting as an exhaust, and so the PSU will not overheat. A PSU is going to have a high tolerance for heat, and will generally shut off before it burns out. Your GPU will usually not do this, so it's actually beneficial to have it work this way.