Looks like I'm getting a dash cam

The drivers here are awful.

Cutting corners, pulling out in front of you, etc.

I remember when roadrage was a much talked about thing.Some people take things way too far though.There are always people competing against eachother weaving in and out of traffic trying to be ahead of everyone else.

I think your dash cam will come in handy. (IMHO)

I'm a safe driver and I obey every aspects of the traffic law. Too many drivers here are impatient and distracted.

Worse of all, a lot of them are drunk. We have a bad case of drunk driving here.

Maybe I'm missing something, forgive me if I'm not seeing the "big" picture.

There are marginal drivers wherever you go, that will probably never change. But if someone cuts you off or runs stop sign or whatever but it doesn't result in an accident, of what value is the dash cam then?

If you have an accident, the dash cam should definitely help you prove fault but how often do you have an accident?

To me, having a dash cam is like owning a gun for protection, it's something that, in the event it is actually needed, could be invaluable. However, the odds are low that it will ever be needed.

I've heard that rear dash cams are required by law in Japan. I probably would not install one in my car unless it was required by law since I don't feel the need.

Hope you get lots of use out of yours (do you really want that statement to be true?).

In Russia, lots of them got dash cams because of insurance scams which could happen here.

What they were doing was that they stop their car and back up into you then claim that you ran into them. They'll sue for damages and whiplash injuries.

I see no harm in having one and they sure can come in handy in protecting me.

Oh, by the way, I have a gun for protection. :)

It's better to have one and not need it than it is to need one and not have it.