Setting up a home network

TonyWBrwn

Solid State Member
I am a novice at this. After much jargon from the net and help in windows I still can't figure out how to set up a home network. I typed in my routers address and I can't change password or anything. I am running Vista and would like to hook up my wireless printer on a home neteork.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Computer Forums mobile app

How many computers? What OSes are they running? What router do you have? Will the computers connect via wire (ethernet) or via wifi to the router?

3 computers, one windows vista and two Windows 8.1, I have a D-link router all on wifi except the windows vista which is a desk top

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Computer Forums mobile app

Here's a YouTube video on how to login to your router. It assumes you (or someone else) hasn't changed the defaults.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZM0W818xTg

Are you able to get logged in by following this video? If not, what happens when you try?

Since you have a Vista computer in your network, you cannot use a Homegroup (only Win 7 & Win 8 computers can join a Homegroup). You will need to setup a Workgroup.

For your Win 8.1 computers, this is how to setup a Workgroup:

Join or create a workgroup

When you set up a network, Windows automatically creates a workgroup and gives it the name WORKGROUP. You can join an existing workgroup on a network or create a new one. Workgroups provide a basis for file and printer sharing, but they don't actually set up sharing for you.

1. Open System by swiping in from the right edge of the screen, tapping Search (or if you're using a mouse, pointing to the upper-right corner of the screen, moving the mouse pointer down, and then clicking Search), entering System in the search box, and tapping or clicking System.
  2. Under Computer name, domain, and workgroup settings, tap or click Change settings.
    1f9463c2-c968-47bf-9b4d-939c5d1af477_70.jpg