Ripped off from repair shop

NathanBrown96

Beta member
Hi Everyone,

For a while my laptop had been unable to turn itself on without being plugged into the mains due to a faulty battery. I took it to Currys for repair who sent it off to KnowHow and they replaced the battery for me as well as some other services.

For starters, they tried to force us to pay for the battery by telling us it was not under guarantee even though it was.
They listed my very good condition laptop as "damaged" because of a 1mmx1mm scratch on the lid. (Maybe to try and force me to pay for the battery by suggesting that I broke it?)
And finally, they wiped my hard drive of everything.

Is this the normal experience? Surely wiping an entire hard drive is not necessary to replace a battery. Note there were no problems with the software or any other part of the hardware than the battery.

I was informed that "some data may be lost" but not all of it. I'm no expert on this, but my father who has worked with computers all of his life even told me that I could have kept my data.

I didn't back my data up and that was my own fault, I accept that. The lost data is not the main issue, it's the fact that they did it unnecessarily.

Can I demand some sort of compensation here? This is utterly ridiculous.

Last edited:
It is absolutely not necessary at all to wipe a laptops hard drive just to replace the battery. All replacing requires is for the laptop to be off and your replacement battery ready to be put in your laptop and you should be able to turn it on and away you go with it. You could put in a complaint and then go from there, They give you some sort of compensation..

You can use recovering software like recurva to get some of your files back. Remember to do backups from now on.