Php Frameworks Dissertation

jordan1992

Beta member
I'm Currently in my last year at university and have to make desisions for my dissertation project.

So I have to pick a dissertation project by then end of next week and I'm really unsure what avenue I should go down!

The project I have picked is to build an E-Commerce site in PHP, but as my project supervisor says there needs to be sufficient academic content in the project to warrant getting an good grade! So he suggested i look into frameworks? So my question is what exactly could I look at?

Should I pick 5/6 frameworks to compare and then build the website in the best suitable one and evaluate it?

Im struggling how to sum in up into a one sentence project title!

If you have any ideas at all or good research topics in this area I could focus on that would be great!

Thanks in advance.

Jordan.

my honest advise is maybe not what you want to hear, but could be simply expressed as: "pick another project"...

it's going to be hard to get real academic content into an e-commerce site.

Your project cannot simply be, here's five bad sites and here is my good one!
and when you say E-Commerce site it sounds like you want to build a shop...

Your tutors advise is don't build a site, build a tool that anyone could use in order to create an e-commerce site.

(e.g build a CMS system with a store/shopping cart builder)

I'm guessing that you want to build an e-commerce site because you have a particular passion, (lets say you want to go into building custom PC's and it's a great excuse to use your final year basically researching and launching your business. -that's where your passion is, and probably not in making website building software??

Your final year project takes loads of time. you need some dedication to stick with it.

if you keep on down this route you need to end up with a concise statement of what you're doing. (building a e-commerce framework)