Wireless stops, has to be reset again & again

tharpdevenport

Baseband Member
I apologize if this is the wrong subforum.

My friend has a computer and a laptop. He has a wireless sender in the house to get internet signal for his lapto; the computer is out in another part of the house. The router is plugged into the wireless and a cable going from the wireless to the computer gives the computer it's internet.

Things have been relatively fine up until about a week ago. Suddenly the the laptop (and a Kindle) can't connect to the internet. I have to manually unplug the wirelss and the cables from it, wait, plug it back in, then plug the cables back in and the laptop then can access the internet. But for some unknown reason (i'm not an expert here), it just suddenly stops whenever I feels like it any time of hte day they go back on, it may or may not get on.

Sometimess, though rarer, he'll loose internet on the main computer, even though it only goes threw the wireless from the router.

No new software or hardware, except adwcleaner (something BleepingComputer.com recommends to it's forum users) since he stupidly clicked on some crap and I had to fix the computer.

Maybe a power outtage screwed thigns up, maybe the new neighbor has something disrupting hte signal or is stealing internet -- who knows, certainly not me. What is going on here? How can I fix this?

Being that the issue is across multiple devices, multiple operating systems and multiple ways of connection, I would say that the router is up the crapper.
So with this in mind I would recommend getting hold of another router and testing it out. If things are good then buy a new router.

Mossiac

I'm going to jump on the bandwagon here and say that it does sound like the router is taking a dump on you. I know from experience. I've gone through two routers that all resulted in having to be power cycled almost daily at the end of their lives. Sadly, they only lived for 12 months to begin with...