Windows DNS server

Celegorm

Site Team
Staff member
So with the new house, I'm doing a new network & all that fun stuff. As part of it, I installed windows server 2012 Essentials (think windows home server x10). Because this is an active directory server by default, it also includes and forces a DNS server on you and any connected clients.

What I'm trying to figure out is how to setup the DNS server such that when the server is down (ie rebooting for updates) how the domain connected computers can still access the internet. While the server is up, I can reach websites just fine, but during reboots I get DNS errors because the only DNS server assigned to the computer is down.

Has anyone here configured a windows DNS server that could help lend a hand?

Couldn't you point the PC's to another DNS server other than the server's like Google's or your ISP's and have it set in the router. I am not very good with configuring DNS on Server 2012 or in general.

If I do that then I get warnings from the best practices analyzer because the clients are not using the server as the dns (required for active directory) so that really wouldn't solve anything.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Computer Forums mobile app

Why not just set the server to restart at 2AM or something like that?

And also, is it worth the hassle when you're looking at 5 minutes of downtime to reboot at the most?

Why not just set the server to restart at 2AM or something like that?

And also, is it worth the hassle when you're looking at 5 minutes of downtime to reboot at the most?

Worth the hassle maybe not in the long run but right now as there's still a bunch of updates to do it's hard to browse the net during a reboot when there's no longer a DNS for a few minutes. I wasn't sure if this would be a quick easy thing to change or not.