Graphics cards and processors

shawshaw

Beta member
Hi just joined and I'm not tech savvy, I have 2 questions. First question is about graphics cards do the R9 AMD series stack up against Nvidia cards?
Second question How does the AMD FX series processors stack up against Intel i5 and i7 are they good Ok or just stick with Intel? Any help will be much appreciated also any suggestions or websites to check out Thx alot

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Computer Forums mobile app

first question. the answer is yes although its a broad yes. r9 290x competes with the 780, r9 280x competes with 770 and so on. the r9 series are pretty good and they have mantle support if that interests you (mantle is an api like directx that boosts gaming performance for low end cpus mainly). generally though nvidia outperforms amd by a few frames and have more stable drivers. they are also less noisy and less power hungry. also amd has no answer for the 780ti currently.

second question. poorly. since the athlon, amd has been crushed by intel. my i7 920, a 7 year old cpu, is right behind the FX series in single core performance (almost outperforming it in some cases). the FX is no match for current haswell and ivy bridge e chips. intel clobbers amd in all but the most intensely multi threaded applications. basically stick with intel. chip to chip intel always wins.

Ok Thx alot that's very helpful

A friend of mine bought 3 of the r290 or 280's not sure but he wasn't impressed with them so he sold them and bought three 780's and he loves it, Much better performance..

If you are gonna mainly be doing gaming and are on a budget go with amd my $60 A6-5400k will keep up with the $140 i3-3220 plus mine is unlocked so i can over clock it to make it run even faster

Sent from my LG-MS770 using Computer Forums mobile app

I'll keep that info in mind I'm not exactly sure what the budget is yet you guys been a big help