Would You Change Careers/Jobs?

BK_123

Golden Master
So would anyone here ever see themselves changing career paths or jobs. The reason why I ask this at the moment in Australia we are facing some of the highest unemployment rates and in my state Tasmania we have the highest rate of all in the country and we are losing jobs rapidly and with a state election approaching not this weekend but next we are tipped to lose more.

I am 90% money motivated 10% interest motivated.

If you offered me a completely different career that I knew could bring in more money long term I'd take it up in a heartbeat.

So at the minute I'm a software developer and have always worked with computers.
If someone offered by a career in I don't know, plumbing? Or Project Management for a 20% salary increase and I thought / knew that the market for this would not disappear, id take it.

I would!

I'm a bachelor English graduate working as secretary now!

Main reason is not the profession, but the working hours! I work 48 hours 6 days, let alone the forced overtime!

I work as an IT supporter at a school. I am also the janitors right hand.
when he needs my help he has me on speed dial.
Pay is fine and work hours are excellent. (i start my work day at 9:30)
Motivation in what i do is unfortunately not always high. I need more challenge.
Most of what i do IT related is easy.

But all in all, i am not complaining about my job.
It's an easy relaxing job with good work hours without me being ripped off when it comes to my pay.

I would change job if i get something similar but with more challenge. More pay would also be to my interest.
If i should change career i think it would be something where i am alone most the time.

Not only would I but I have in the past. I've had 3 different careers within my personal work history.