Bad Internet Connection

DogSong

Daemon Poster
Hey guys, I have a USB Dongle for my internet connection, and it's very very slow. I want to get something faster for my desktop because whenever I play Alliance of Vailiant Arms, I lose my connection because it's not getting a good connection, and Ranlink says it's a weak connection.... So my question is, what would be the best wireless PCI or mini PCI card would be the best for what I want to do? Should I get one with a 5 dbi antenna?

First, gaming over wifi is going to suck. Second, if you not getting a good signal it's likely that any adapter won't get a good signal unless you want to pay a good chunck of change for a high end one.

I've heard good things about powerline adapters, though I have no experience with them.
Newegg.com - TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT AV 200Mbps Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

I'm thinking about getting a set for my house too to go into my basement where the wifi isn't that good as well.

Go with jmacavali. I have a ser and even with a switch there is no real signal loss. They require no setup and with a decent set you don't even sacrifice a power socket.

Only downside is they are anywhere from £50 -£150, if not more.

Mossiac

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Computer Forums mobile app

Hay, I have one of those power socket things, dad gave to me, its a good one I think, I always assumed it was a last resort thing for when you could not use wifi, but are you saying it would actualy be faster/better than useing wifi?

Are there any downsides I should know about as I might plug mine in if I will get better speeds, I am on a 40mb line but only get 15mb on wifi but my tablets all get higher I think I just dont get good signal were my PC is and this could be an aswomse way to fix that as wired connection is not option.