Why I hate Mondays

iPwn

..m.0,0.m..,
Primarily email. See attached.

*while I don't have to inspect each email, sifting through them is a pain. (as you can see, already deleted 44k)

Attachments

• MondaysSuck.PNG
    MondaysSuck.PNG
    11.9 KB · Views: 38
That's all email starting from last Thursday. I don't sift through emails on Friday haha. Only if it's super important (which means I'll get a text) will I check out the notifications. So, that's from Thursday @3pm to this morning @6am.

Edit: I'm (unfortunately) one of the few employees with unlimited email storage. Sometimes I wish there was a cap. I'd never clean my email

Where I work won't be posted, but I'm a database administrator. Mostly fixing other people's (mostly programmers, some users) mistakes. Instead of following a practical approach to data storage, it seems that our programmers (even after being told numerous times) just don't understand how a database is supposed to work.

For example; There is one in particular that completely misses the point of columns. Instead of having column A > Data; column B > data; etc. He likes to write procedures in our system that simply dump all the data into a single cell and separates it by underscore. So we'll randomly see new tables appear with a single column containing something like 20131125_1156233_012152_22.99_856955_20131126. That string could represent a million different attributes. The first and last are dates, sure, but which are the order number, customer number, and shipment number?
And then that breaks stuff. BUT our leadership team sees our programmers as 'can do no wrong' so regardless of how many times the database guys tell them its terrible for all kinds of reasons, they just say fix it and move on.