Windows 7 or 8?

Muzik Mama

Beta member
Hi everyone. :) This is my first time here and I am hoping to get some feedback on what OS I should buy.

I am ordering a new Dell Desktop and I'm NOT sure if I should go with the Windows 7 (which I have on my laptop) or go with Windows 8. I've heard different things about the 8 but not enough of it so that I can come to a decision. I've heard that it is a little better in the way of not being so 'bloated' compared to the 7 ..........and then I've also heard that it's not very good. (I'm not interested in having a touch screen so it won't matter there either).

Again, just hoping for some feedback please so I can go ahead and order....It is VERY much appreciated. :thumb:

Thank you,
Karen

Last edited:
I have used both extensively.

Design-wise Windows 8 is designed for machines with touch screen -- regardless if you actually have it or not.

Performance-wise it is not significantly better or worse than Windows 7.

If you have a choice, i.e., you can get Windows 7 on the computer of your choice easily, please go with that.

First of all Welcome to CF :)

I've tried Windows 8 out and I love it and am going to buy it. It's more for touchscreen devices than devices without a touchscreen. It's take a bit to get used to and work out how to use it.

The only part of Win 8 that is even really usable via touchscreen is the Start screen. Once you get past the Start screen, it's pretty much like Win 7 and a touchscreen becomes a hindrance rather than something useful. Touchscreen works OK on a small screen device like a phone or tablet but when you get into larger screens used with laptops and desktops then having to remove your hand from the keyboard, reach up to the monitor then make large arm movements in order to do something that could be done with a small flick of the wrist using a mouse productivity is impacted greatly.