With which programming language should I start before learning Java?

Mvf314

Solid State Member
Hi everyone!

I want to learn Java, but I find it really hard to learn. I know HTML (if you can call that a programming language), a bit Python, a bit PHP and Lua. Can you guys post what programming language(s) I shiuld learn/understand before I learn Java?

Thanks,

Mvf314

Well let's start with this: What's making Java difficult for you to learn? Outside of BASIC and Visual Basic (neither of which really count IMO), Java was the first one I learned.

Well let's start with this: What's making Java difficult for you to learn? Outside of BASIC and Visual Basic (neither of which really count IMO), Java was the first one I learned.

Uhmm I didn't do any programming languages which are not for web designing, and I just can't find the good tutorials. (Google is my enemie :( )

Java was the first language I studied also. Do you have any particular objective/project in mind for which you want to implement using Java (e.g. games, network programming, web-applets, databases etc.) or are you wishing to approach this from a more theoretical computer science perspective?

If you're after the former then I'd go for a book specifically tailored to that genre of the language as it removes some of the 'but what is the best way to do that?' questions from a design perspective, and lets you focus on actually implementing and learning the language features.

If the latter is more what you're aiming at then I suggest working through information from a more academic source e.g. a pure java book/tutorial with no specific genre affiliation. I find the best way to audit your choices on this point is to use google books or amazon preview to find the section most commonly titled 'Who should read this book?' at the beginning of most, if not all, technical books like this.