Learning Properly

ssc456

Fully Optimized
Hey guys,

I've got a small problem at the moment.
I've been playing about with development for atleast 5 years + now and would confidently say sit me in front of Visual Studio and I could confidently build you anything in C#.

The problem I have is that I can't get this across in an interview or in a test.
The problem Is I learnt the same way many people have, my picking apart other peoples code, expanding on it and manipulating it.

From this I can now write code from scratch.
However what I can't do is tell you the terminology of things.

ie I was asked in an interview to define the difference between a property and a method (I can tell you now). But in the interview I was like I don't know? Despite the fact that I was using the two on a daily basis I didn't understand the terminology.

How have you guys learnt your programming languages properly?

I sat a course in C over a few years whilst I was at university.

That said.
it's probably one of those get a book moments, or sign up to devshed and start helping people.
or stack overflow.

sounds like a real pain, but to be honest, if you spend some time on a forum like that you'll soon have the proper terms learned, it's be a necessity that you'll have to learn them in order to properly get your point across.

Though I have to say I find it a bit strange that you're working as a dev in a software house and haven't at least picked up some of the lingo.

I sat a course in C over a few years whilst I was at university.

That said.
it's probably one of those get a book moments, or sign up to devshed and start helping people.
or stack overflow.

sounds like a real pain, but to be honest, if you spend some time on a forum like that you'll soon have the proper terms learned, it's be a necessity that you'll have to learn them in order to properly get your point across.