I'm new to the building part.

funnynon

Solid State Member
I'd like to know if the parts i've chosen would work together well/what i could change.
Intel Core i5-3350P, EVGA GeForce GTX 670, Rosewill REDBONE U3 - My custom build - funnynon's Saved Part List - PCPartPicker

I'm not new to computers, not in the least. But i am new to the building of computers. I've had the same crappy laptop for the past few years, and I'm looking for an upgrade. I'm going to be using it for gaming mainly, and the budget is a bit tight. ($1,000 at the most.)

Also, is it better to have 4 GB of ram, or 8GB?

8 gig is always better then 4. also 16 gig is better then 8. how much better depends on what applications you are running.
in todays modern computers, having 4 gig is considered the minimum among to have in a system. and sense RAM is cheap these days, you should definitely go for 8 gigabyte. it's better for the system. windows will use more RAM to make the system faster, instead of saving it.

i can see you have chosen a 1x8 kit. i'll go for a 2x4 kit if i where you. it will alow the RAM to work together in dual channel mode.
i think a slim DVD drive is gonna look funny in that computer. you should properly chose a non slim DVD drive.

Most important of all: "CHOSE A BETTER PSU"
It's only a 350W. when gaming it's gonna be using more then 80% it's maximum power delivery.
it's not healthy for your PSU and power bill... and it's gonna be hot and noisy.

other then that it looks like a fin PC.

he should get a better one. when choosing a PSU, you have to think about what kind of system you are building.
the Stallion 400W is gonna have bad power efficiency (especially when gaming). it's so bad that it doesn't even have an 80+ Certification.
rather go for a Corsair CX500. it's ONLY 8-10 bucks more. It has 100W more AND it's 80+ Bronze Certified.

Corsair Builder 500W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V Power Supply (CX500) - PCPartPicker