UPS Necessary in this Case?

michele

Beta member
I do not know much about networking, but I will still try to detail my issue as best as possible. I am a teacher, and over the past 3 years there has been a network box in my classroom. Inside the box one network switch (an HP 2910 POE) has been running with a continuous fan. It has not been a problem, since the fan is very quiet. A few days ago, they installed a second switch in the box (an HP 2920 POE) and an APC UPS unit. Those are the only three things in the network box drawing power. The problem is that the APS UPS has a continuous fan that is not too loud, but produces a continuous high pitch piercing noise. It drives you nuts when you are in the room for 5+ minutes. My students are going to go crazy taking an exam with that thing running next fall. I am curious if anything can be done about the fan noise on the UPS unit. Also, I wonder if we even need a UPS at all. Can a quick cut to the power (not a power surge, but a power outage) destroy those switches? If not having the APC UPS would just mean that the network isn't available during a power outage, then I do not think it is needed for my setting. I am curious to hear your thoughts. Thanks!

The UPS not only provides back up power it also filters the noise off the line besides the obvious surge protection. My UPS is an ACP but doesn't have a fan. I would venture your hearing is some what like mine in I can hear dog whistles. The high pitched whine is the inverter that changes the battery power to AC power.

If you can hear it one of several things are possible.
You're hearing is sensitive to high pitched sound.
The inverter is running at max load.
The invertor transformer is bad and the coils are whining.
If it's a larger unit and has a fan it might be a bit of overkill. This is more suited to your needs > APC Back-UPS ES BE550G UPS - Newegg.com