Trojan/Malware Questions | Research Project

Research101

Beta member
Hi,

I am currently studying in year 12 and for my Research Project subject we are required to use some form of communication to get answers that we may not find just browsing the web and this is part of my Primary research. I have already done a lot of Secondary research but I believe that majority of my Primary information will come from someone who knows what they are talking about and they aren't just copying and pasting the answers from other websites because I can get answers that way myself. So I was wondering if someone on here who deals with Malware and knows a lot about computer security could answer these following questions because this would really help me with my research development and back up the research I have already done.

Questions

How do Trojans get into your system?

What is the purpose of a Trojan and why do people make them?

Do firewalls play an important role in protecting your system against malware?

Is antivirus software the most affective way to remove a Trojan?

What is the most effective way to remove a Trojan?

What software/tools do you recommend that I should use to prevent Trojans/Malware?

I'm no expert by a long shot, but I have been using the internet since the bad old days of 5.6k dialup modems, and I have downloaded a million programs that claimed to speed this or that up only to find out that they were viruses. I basically learned to format my machine and reinstall the operating system before I learned to send an email.