I wanna get into programming

Believe me, I try!

Getting off topic a bit, but I do agree - there's way too many people who graduate from university with a degree in CS and can't code to save their lives. FWIW, I'm actually doing a PhD at the moment trying to do something to help this issue, as part of it I'm looking at developing a notional machine / associated tool to hopefully allow people to harness those necessary skills more easily and quickly. With that and the combined recent change in curriculum so programming is compulsory at secondary school, I really do hope this situation changes...!
Cheers! The best to you and your thesis, hope all goes well and we'll soon be calling you Doc Berry.

It also depends on what you want to develop. If you want to develop websites and web applications, it is a different process than mobile applications for example.

It also depends on what you want to develop. If you want to develop websites and web applications, it is a different process than mobile applications for example.
Agreed, add WSDL, schemas, XLST, and XML to the list. XMLSpy and SOAPUI as well. For mobile add Android, and iOS programming/scripting. It has indeed become a very complicated landscape now-a-days.

How can I get started, are certificate programs good? Thanks!

Hello,

I am developing an app for my iPhone. I am not a professional but I am interested in this topic and have little experience. While doing some research I found a page that deals with app development and has code snippets as well. The information provided by the page (if you are interested have a look: Ozeki C# VoIP SDK - A SIP SDK for software developers) proved to be really useful. Hope I could help you with this information.