Programing advice

edp

Beta member
Hello,
Not sure I am in the right place but was hoping I might find some help. I am a teacher and am looking to create an online test bank review program that I can use for my students. My goal is to have students take different tests and for them to be automatically graded and those grades to be uploaded to my grade book. I would also like to be able to run diagnostics on students to determine areas of weakness. I know such programs exist but I really want to have the freedom to input my own data (questions etc.) also I need it to be compatible with my grade book so may need to create one of these as well. So far have looked at simple solutions like Excel and Access but have no little success. As this thread probably suggests, I have no programming experience and do not anticipate this project of mine to be quick or simple. I just really need help in figuring out where to start.:confused:
Thanks

I own don't have much programming experience but have seen these kinds of project developed in java creating a servlet and using front end as html and back end my sql.. and for server apache tomcat.. as you would need local hosting only..
but these are advanced java concepts..

If you don't want to buy a commercial product and want to roll your own then you are going to need to learn some sort of programming syntax. I believe that the Excel/Access route would be the simplest and easiest to learn and implement. Learning Java or some other language/db would be a pretty huge undertaking for someone with no programming background. There are lots of tutorials on how to accomplish things in Excel/Access so I would use Google or your favorite search engine to find some of those tutorials and go from there.

Good luck.

Hey,

Yeah I think your going to have to jump in at the deep end and pick a language.

Excel VBA and Access is a good combo but doesn't have some of the benefits that a web based version may have.