Help upgrading a Dell Optiplex SX270

cheeseroll

Beta member
My Macbook just crashed this week and i'm looking to switch back to a PC. I'm no techie. I don't know anything about computers and gadgets other than the hard drive being for memory space.

I have this Dell Optiplex SX270 which I found lying on my bed one night and I thought it'd be really cool if I could just fix it up to have my own personalized computer, one that would meet my needs. It's a mini CPU and currently it has a Pentium 4 processor and runs on WinXP. The CPU is almost 10 years old and I'm expecting to change everything, including the motherboard, just so I can get it up to speed. I need a computer that I can use primarily for audio recording programs, audio/video editing but I'd also like to play games on it like Battlefield 3 and Guild Wars 2 and play HD movies. Audio quality would be my biggest concern rather than video quality, but good video quality would be nice. And I've been doing some reading and it said on some sights that the bigger brother of this CPU, the GX270, can't be upgraded. Now, I don't know why they say it can't be upgraded but I figured it's cuz you would have to change the motherboard itself which from how I understand it is like buying a whole new computer altogether. But that's just my guess. I really don't know a thing about computers.

I'm completely clueless on what to do with it and if what I'm hoping to do is even possible. I would appreciate any help I could get

Last edited:
If you wanted to you could actually build a way better computer of your own, Newegg have a range of kits that are very cheap, All of the parts are chosen carefully for compatibility and once it arrives you just have to put it together, Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more! - Newegg.com

I'll check it out. Thanks for the referral. Personally, though, I would really like to build up that mini CPU I have, if at all possible. Even if it means