Photograph Of The Day

My Mrs managed to take these photos of me on holiday last year. They have since been referred to as my "Lonely Man" pictures.

Not particulary greate quality but i do think they have a certain artistic quality in the sense of having no one else in the picture and having "the whole world" in front of me ? . . . .

Seti, my first thought, before reading your post was, "he needs a back drop". But only because it's the kitchen and a backdrop would hide that fact.

As for lighting, it can be tough to get the right light without having studio lights. First thing I would do is turn the flash off, and see how they turn out. Then see if you can get some ambient lighting from the sides instead of from the top and front (windows or other rooms might help). Then the shadows in the back are most likely from the flash so backing up or turning the flash brightness down (if your camera allows for that) would help.

I'm no expert, I can only tell you what works best for me in that situation. I would continue to use the green lights. Leave them on so your camera can "see" the subject. Leave your camera on "Auto", force the flash "On", step back about 10' or so, and then use the zoom function on your camera to get as close as you need, focus, and snap! The reason I step back, is to avoid hot spots. I get more even lighting with a flash from 10' or 12' away.

Another option is to simply take the photo you have, like this one, and use any photo utility app. like Paint Shop Pro, or Photo Shop, etc., and just lighten it a little, and sharpen it a little, as well as any other corrections you think it needs, and you'll be happy.

Attachments

• My Little Fleet II.jpg
    My Little Fleet II.jpg
    98.5 KB · Views: 8
IMG_0901.jpg

One of the first pics I took with my T2i. It was actually from a moving vehicle (see the foregroud is blurry). Turned out quite nice.

Here's the cropped version that I like as well:

IMG_0901-1.jpg

I personally like the first one better! :)