Photograph Of The Day

I am not into photography but my gf says I should buy a decent one. So I am buying Canon SX40 H... its cheap. Is it any good? Any good photographer here?

Terrible. For the cost of that, you could get a used slr. Looking at keh, you could get a D3000 and 18-55 for a little over $300, but what camera lens is best really depends on you. What's your max budget and what type of photography do you generally do?

I'm considering going camping tomorrow, so i may have some new pics soon. Oh, how i dread carrying the 4x5 camera around on top of normal backpacking gear.

I am not into photography but my gf says I should buy a decent one. So I am buying Canon SX40 H... its cheap. Is it any good? Any good photographer here?

I am not a professional photographer, and by no means a camera expert. I'm just a guy who enjoys taking wildlife photos as a hobby. Very relaxing.

Unfortunately, I find that expressing one's opinion about a camera, or lens, etc., is like venturing an opinion about a graphics card. There always seems to be someone, laying in the weeds, waiting to tell you you're crazy.

Here's my 2 cents. I really enjoy using, and recommend a "hybrid" camera for someone who wants great photos, but is not a camera fanatic. A hybrid, is simply a camera with many of the features of a more expensive and sophisticated, $800.00 DSLR, blended with all of the automatic, and simplistic features, of a simple $89.00 point n' shoot. Hybrids usually sell for around $400.00 new.

I am currently using the Sony HX100V. (Some pics below) It has recently been replaced by the HX200V. Same camera, but rated at 18mp, rather than 16mp. I buy a new hybrid every 3 years or so, when it's worth the price of the upgrade. Canon, and Nikon also make hybrids.