School days

Out of curiosity, are teachers unions common and as powerful in other countries like they are here in America? Chicago recently tried to extend their days because they have some of the worst scores in the country. The teachers striked for weeks straight because they weren't getting good enough of a pay raise. But claimed, "it was all about the Children." Who for weeks had to sit at home not getting educated so the teachers could ask for more money.

Disclaimer: I work in a school district and my wife is a teacher.

1st - the politicians who wanna change education need to take two weeks and come sit in a classroom all day -everyday. They'll realize pretty darn quick they have no idea what really goes on and what their "bright" ideas will really mean to teachers and children.

2nd - our teachers make around $90 a day (that's about $11-12 an hour or about 4 an hour per kid). Then add in the new testing and teacher evaluations (and this played a big role in the Chicago strike - it wasn't just about money) and you have a highly undervalued and under appreciated job. These teachers are going to be evaluated on whether a student can sit down for 3 hours and pass a test. Not to mention that some of these kids are worried about finding a meal after school or they have had 3 different dads or moms in 3 years or they are on more drugs than a rock star in the 70's. It's really an unfair measurement of how good a teacher actually is.

End rant and no more comments from me on the topic.

1st - the politicians who wanna change education need to take two weeks and come sit in a classroom all day -everyday. They'll realize pretty darn quick they have no idea what really goes on and what their "bright" ideas will really mean to teachers and children.