Building a low end gaming pc, help needed!

j4ke002

Beta member
Hey everyone, I am trying to plan out the needed hardware for a possible gaming computer that I may be able to buy all the components for and build later this year. I am not very well off with money at the moment so here are the parts I have on the list currently, and I will ask my questions after the build has been laid out, but I have yet to choose a PSU, mainly because there are many cheap ones available but I don't know whether or not to trust them! Also, I have yet to choose a graphics card, I will tell you why after I've listed the components.

Case: CiT Vantage Midi Mesh Gaming Case

Processor: AMD A8 3870K

Motherboard: Asus F1A55-M LX Motherboard

RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz

Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB

There is also a disk drive and a wireless PCI card in the build as well.

Okay, so here are my problems:

1) I am not sure which PSU to buy, I am a first time computer builder and have heard that cheap PSU's often do not work as intended and cause damage to the computer's hardware. If this is true, then I will invest my money is a more expensive power supply.

2) I wanted to crossfire an AMD Radeon HD6670 2GB DDR3 graphics card with the APU's graphics in order to minimize costs. I chose the card because I heard that any GDDR5 graphics card will automatically be 'downgraded' to DDR3 when used this way, so I thought it would be better to buy a 2GB DDR3 because it's cheaper than a 1GB GDDR5 card of the same model and there is an extra gigabyte of dedicated graphics memory. However, I have also been told by someone that you can only use a maximum of 1GB cards when using AMD Dual Graphics with the Llano APU's. If this is true, then maybe I should wait a little longer and buy a more expensive video card and forget about crossfiring it with the APU.

So, what PSU should I plan on getting? The cheaper the better, I don't have much money to throw around.