Need Help With Ubuntu 12.04

Frustrato

Baseband Member
Hi, please can anyone advise me on the installation of Ubuntu 12.04?

I have tried doing the install from inside windows, according to instructions I found in a video on Youtube. Looked pretty simple... but at first, I had to reboot my computer a couple of times to get it going. Finally I got through to the Ubuntu desktop and it's slow to the point of being completely useless. I have to click on anything several times to get a response and the updater just hangs there, doing nothing. There is something like 10 or 12 seconds between clicking and a simple window opening. It's terrible.

Do I need to keep the disc I burned in the CD drive for it to work properly in this type of installation?

It's my first time with any Linux distro and it's not looking too good so far. I wonder if I could get some help on this, it's driving me mad.

Any help and advice would be highly appreciated Thank you.

---------- Post added at 05:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:21 PM ----------

One other thing. I made sure I downloaded the 32 bit version. When I look up system properties in Ubunto, it says 64bit. I don't understand this.

---------- Post added at 05:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:25 PM ----------

I downloaded from here: Desktop | Ubuntu and went for the download link at the top. Now I have just noticed the one which says "Windows Installer". When I click on this and look at the file to be saved, it says "wubi". Looking inside the folder I originally downloaded to, I find the file "wubi" to be already there. So what's the difference with these two downloads? Have I done something wrong or not?

Are you running 64 bit or 32 bit windows? If you used the wubi (windows installer), then ake sure that if your windows is 64 bit, the ubuntu version is 64 bit etc.

OR:

Burn the .iso file to disc

Boot PC from the disc

Install or try Ubuntu