Slowdown

When this happens does the fan speed increase?

Does the Harddrive light suddenly start flashing really fast?

Generally, if the CPU usage is low, and the RAM usage is fairly low, the HD may be struggling.

Yes the cpu fan speed goes up drastically.
The hdd light does not flash at all.
Im a bit newbie to hardware, do you think there's an issue with the cpu?:confused:

If the fan speed goes up dramatically, then it is most probably too hot and the CPU is throttling back to cool itself down.

See if you can download a program which allows you to change the fan speed yourself, or there could be an option in the BIOS.

As a last resort, buy a laptop cooling mat with fans in it. Although personally I found propping up the back with something that does not block the fans worked fairly well.

Remove the heat sink from the CPU. Thoroughly clean it with compressed air. Dust under the fan, over the fins is a little more difficult to get rid of. Remove all thermal paste from the CPU and heat sink. Re-apply new thermal paste to the CPU. Use a small amount, too much will hurt cooling performance. I like to use 5 small drops, 1 in each corner and 1 in the center. When you install the heat sink back onto the CPU, it will spread the thermal paste evenly, filling in any low spots on the heat sink.

You are all focusing merely on the heat, rather than the actual problem: his CPU unusually going full-whack. Obviously a CPU at full-whack will get hot causing the fan to kick-in, therefore it's kinda obvious that things would slow down, since the CPU is at full-whack.

Not sure what the problem is, but I certainly wouldn't poke around with the hardware; there was no harm in looking, which you've done, so that's good. I would look at software, and I would double check the BIOS is all set right.