Help with upgrading my graphics card! :d

Redfrog42

Solid State Member
Okay, guys i dont want grief or anything i am very new to computing but i have a basic knowledge and understanding of what means what. i have come on to this forum site to try and find out off people what i could upgrade my GPU to, my GPU i have atm is the XFX Radeon HD 6450 Graphics card, this card is terrible wouldnt recommend it to anyone who's thinking of getting their "starting Graphics Card". i was looking at something from the GTX 500 series, my price range goes up to £200 and i was looking at some of the 560 ti cards. i got told by a friend i need to watch out for two things,
1) the card needs to much power that my PSU cant give
2) the card is too good and "bottlenecks" my CPU
i would like to know more about these terms, my PSU maximum power is 450w.
please someone reply to this and if you need a full system spec then i will send one in this post if you request it. thanks for the help guys.
This is the computer i bought so it tells you some of the spec on there.
eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace
Danny.

I would recommend getting a new psu before getting your graphics card. Most if not all cards will require a minimum amount of 500w but in your case with the HD 6450, that is a low end card of the 6000 series and would be the reason why it does not perform that well as you thought it would and wouldnt need a 500w psu. Before I recommend a card, what kind of applications or games will you be running on your computer?

hey thanks for getting back to me,