Old pc needs upgrading for gaming on cheap

Deeman

Solid State Member
Hi guys new to the forum thing and would like some help if possible.
I have an old pc that to be fair ain't done bad but is starting to struggle with newer games and I would like to upgrade on cheap.
It has :
Abit lg-95c mb
Intel celeron (r) processor
2gig ram
Sapphire 4800 graphics card
I'm new to this sorry if above is a bit in-helpfully.
What should I do ??

The first thing you need to do is chuck that Celeron and get a Core 2 Duo. I checked your motherboard's compatibility list, and if you can find one still, a Core 2 Duo E6700 is relatively inexpensive at the moment (anywhere from $80-$120, being that it's an older Core 2 chip, that's actually not too bad)

Unfortunately there's a snag on this next bit. Your RAM, according to the motherboard maker, is maxed at 2GB. You could buy more and see if the system will run with it (2 x 2GB modules) but obviously no promises.

Which Sapphire 4800 series card is it? 4800 is too vague - that's just a family (generational) number. 4850? 4870? etc. Need to know more. If you don't know how to check, just download this program: Speccy - System Information - Free Download and post a screenshot of the first window when you run the program.

Also, which operating system are you currently running?

How much are you hoping to spend?

Thank you for your reply original post sent on iphone so it was a bit empty of content hehe here is the run down of my super fast pc...
Operating System
MS Windows XP Professional 32-bit SP3
CPU
Intel Celeron 331
Prescott 90nm Technology
RAM
2.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 199MHz (4-4-4-12)
Motherboard
Welcome to Universal ABIT Co., Ltd. - Get ready for the Next Generation LG-95C (CPU 1) 40 °C
Graphics
DELL E173FP (1024x768@60Hz)
512MB ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (ATI) 80 °C
Hard Drives
244GB Western Digital WDC WD2500JD-75HBB0 (SATA) 35 °C
Optical Drives
HL-DT-ST DVD-ROM GDR8163B
Philips DVD+RW DVD8601

thank you again-D