Need upgrade advice.

lvlagnum

Beta member
Hello everyone. I need some advice for an upgrade I am thinking of doing and I've heard you folks are the people to ask. Please be patient and forgive my longwindedness but I want to make sure I'm understood.

First a bit about me so you know what skill level I'm at. I've been using computers and the internet for 13 years now. So, while I'm not new to using computers, this will be my first time replacing components and tweaking. My current technical abilities are limited to reformating had drives and installing an OS and programmes. I do understand some of the technical jargon but please be patient if I use the wrong terminology or don't understand everything you say. My use is limited to internet and such, so I don't need a nuke powered and liquid cooled gaming rig like I'm sure some of you own. lol
gun.gif

Up untill now I have been using a Dell XPS-R450 PII with 128mb of RAM and a 14GB hard drive with Windows98. Yes, that's right. I'm still using a 13 year old computer with Win98. While this old girl has served me well, she's getting a bit long in the tooth and it's time to retire her. This computer has been bullet proof and hasn't needed any components replaced. I'd probably keep on using her if it wasn't for so many websites not working properly with IE6 anymore. I could probably just get away with loading WindowsXP on her but I feel it's time to move on.
frown.gif

I recently aquired a used ATX case with the following components already installed but with no OS yet installed:

*Intel D845EPI/D845GVSR motherboard
*Intel 2.4GHZ P4 CPU
*Apacer 512MB DDR333 RAM
*Apacer 256MB DDR333 RAM
*Western Digital 250GB 7,200RPM PATA100 hard drive
*LG 52X32X52 Rewritable 16X DVD
*Allied 300W PSU
*3.5" Floppy Drive (I installed this myself and sucessfuly configured the BIOS)

I would like to add the following:
*Iomega-100 Zip Drive.
*1GB DDR RAM
*1GB DDR RAM
*WindowsXP or Windows7

My questions are as follows: