Building a new system for the first time.

Chevex

Solid State Member
I am a software developer, so naturally I know almost nothing about hardware :p. I've never built a PC before so I'm looking for input on this build that I have taken the time to put together. It is reasonably priced and all parts have pretty high ratings on newegg. I have a couple questions but any input is appreciated.

Here is the system I am planning to build:

ASUS P8Z68 Motherboard

Intel Core i7 - 2600K 3.4 GHz Processor

4 2GB 240-Pin DDR2

Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6gb/s HDD

EVGA GeForce GTX 560 1GB Graphics Card

I already have a case big enough and a 480w power supply. I have two questions:

1. Is all of this going to be compatible?

2. Is 480w enough power?

first of all, DDR2 memory wont work, or fit in a DDR3 motherboard, you will need this Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL. secondly, 480watt power supply wont be strong enough to power the system, i suggest reading under details section of graphics card and finding out the reqiurments, it says.
System Requirements170W Maximum Graphics Card Power (W)
500W Minimum System Power Requirement (W)

i would get a 600watt power supply, but dont cheap out on one.

first of all, DDR2 memory wont work, or fit in a DDR3 motherboard, you will need this Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL. secondly, 480watt power supply wont be strong enough to power the system, i suggest reading under details section of graphics card and finding out the reqiurments, it says.
System Requirements170W Maximum Graphics Card Power (W)
500W Minimum System Power Requirement (W)

i would get a 600watt power supply, but dont cheap out on one.