what would be the EASIEST (to learn) programming language for an ABSOLUTE BEGINNER ..

creatip

Beta member
... who wants to code a Tetris-like game in less than 3 month?

Would Scratch (I came upon it HERE) do the trick? I also need a decent GUI and about 30 fps.

I started Python but I can't install the GASP (I have Vista) and I'm running outta time. My (programming/gaming-related) story is HERE

Thank you guys and Happy Labor Day!!

Dan

P.S. If I'm looking for something Windows friendly (I'm tired of Windows being the Cinderella of the programming community), would VB6.0 be the (only) answer (since C++ would obviously take way more than 3 mo to master)?

Scratch is possibly the easiest solution, it's quick to get started with and has a very easy interface to pick up. You'll find yourself incredibly restricted though when you've mastered the basics. Greenfoot might be another one to look at, it uses Java so you're not working with a restrictive language but it's still quite easy to get started (I've run workshops with Greenfoot where we've got 15-16 year old kids creating basic games in a day or so.)

If you're looking at programming languages in general and not just for games, have a look at my sticky in the programming section.

so you mean Scratch would help me "code a Tetris-like game in less than 3 month"? I only need to send a playable demo of SyncFerno to the damn contest. Once I'm done with that I'll probably buy a new laptop, install Unix on it and go back to Python

It depends how complicated you want it to be, it may well do but you may find it limiting. I haven't used it a great deal so can't really be more specific sorry - but there's no harm in you giving it a try for a day or so to see if it meets your needs or not.