Help a newbie find a replacement Video Card

Newbie89

Beta member
Hi all,

I'm an absolute newbie with computers. I've had one for a few years and have no understanding of how they work and especially what hardware goes with what. I mainly use it for university work and the internet but there are two games that I absolutely love playing...Flight Simulator X and GTAIV. Just last week I switched my pc on and there were these four blue lines running up the screen and my system info informed me that my video card had a problem and windows stopped it working. A friend gave me a few quick fix solutions (reinstalling the vid card and cleaning out the plugs) but it hasn't helped. So I'm under the impression I should buy a new one...so which one?

The games I stated above ran alright, but not as smoothly as I think they could. I'm asking for some help to find a video card that you guys think is reasonable in performance and price. All help is appreciated.

My specs are:

Sys Model: P35-DS3L
Sys Type: X86-based pc / 32 bit operating system
Proc: Intel (R) Core (TM)2 Duo CPU E6850 @ 3.00 GHZ, 2 cores, 2 logical processors
RAM: 2GB
Total virtual memory: 4.24GB
Available virtual memory: 2.84GB
Monitor resolution: 1280 X 1024
Current Video card: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS

So I've probably listed things you don't need in order to help me, but hopefully I haven't left anything out. Thanks alot guys!

Whats your budget? If you have around 100$... you could get a radeon 5770, if you have around 70, you could get a radeon 4670.

Nothing over $150 ideally. Are these cards going to improve performance or will it be the same as before? Thanks for your reply.

I would like to add that the Radeon HD 6770 is the same price as the 5770, so if you go looking for a 5770 and can't find it, the 6770 is the same exact card, just rebranded for the new HD 6xxx generation.

The 6770 (and 5770) would be a pretty decent upgrade over the 8800 GTS that you have, Here's a comparison chart for reference: