Whats the most important thing to look for when buying a gaming laptop?

SimpsonKnight

Solid State Member
Hey ComputerForums.org, this is my first time posting here so please excuse any dumb questions or comments. So I am thinking about buying a gaming laptop and I've been doing some research and I have a few questions cause I am not the best with computers. For example, I dont really get how CPU strength is measured. So here (Battalion 101 X8100-U3 2011 - TopTenREVIEWS) is the gaming computer that placed at the top of this site's list of the best gaming laptops out there but if you look at its specifications, it only has a 1.73 GHz processor. Dont most games require like a 2.5 GHz processor? So what kind of processor do you need to run most current mainstream games? If anyone could explain this to me, that would be awesome. Also, what is generally the most important feature to look out for in a gaming laptop?

Processor speed is only relevant if you live in the 90's. In all seriousness, look at the CPU generation (i7, Phenom II, etc) and the number of cores (X2, X4, X6, etc) and the clock speed LAST. For the record, I've never heard of "top ten reviews" and as such, I don't trust it at all.

If you want to buy a gaming laptop, you need to tell us what your budget is, and then we can match you up with one that we know will work based on standards in the industry. Believe it or not, most laptops are the same, it's just a different brand name on a slightly different chassis with varying degrees of clock speed and side perks. There's really no reason to rely on "best of" sites, especially these days.

most important would be performance vs heat.
Find the fastest one that runs cooler.

Yeah most games require a 2.5ghz dualcore to run good but laptops cant go more than that or they will overheat.
You cant add fans to a laptop and all the parts are cramped together.
The one you posted is an i7 quad core and im sure even at only 1.5ghz it still runs fast.