One computer on a home network can't be accessed by the others

anasttin

Solid State Member
Hi and thanks in advance for the help.

I've got 3 identical PC's that were bought and configured at the same time, all running

Windows 7 off a Netgear router.

Though all 3 machines can successfully ping each other, one machine can't be accessed by

the other two through windows explorer meaning it can't participate in LAN games or share

files with the other 2 machines.

I also seem unable to register my copy of Starcraft II because it doesn't recognise any

return data from the Starcraft servers, though it works fine on another machine (not sure

if this is related).

I've disabled the Comodo firewall on the unaccessible machine and believe file sharing is

activated but it hasn't helped.

I'm no expert in networks so if someone could suggest what I might have done wrong in the

setup, to correct the problem, I'd be very grateful because I've spent ages trying to fix

this already.

Thanks guys

Ana

From the PC that isn't working, try opening a command prompt (Click Start, type cmd and wait for the result to show up, press enter, then type

ping 8.8.8.8

What happens? If you don't get any replies, the connection on that system isn't active. The fact that StarCraft II doesn't connect is also telling of a general network card issue, and could be something more serious like a bad network card in that system, or a bad cable. Need to know what happens when you try to ping.

Also, when in the command prompt, run:

IPCONFIG

and look for your local area connection adapter's IP address. Do this on all three machines and make sure you're in the same subnet (Likely 192.168.x.y). Make sure the 'x' matches on all three computers, else you may have a static IP address assigned, preventing you to access the proper subnet.

image090.jpg