Check my build? :)

Nermid

Beta member
I'm not a general user of this forum, as you can undoubtedly see. I have never built a computer before, but after much research I have come up with a set-up that I think should work well for me. If anyone could comment or verify on any part of this set-up I would be greatly appreciative :)

Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
CPU: Intel i5-2500k, 3.3GHz, 6MB Cache
GPU: XFX Radeon 6870
Mem: 2 x 2GB Corsair 1600MHz
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 1TB, 7200RPM, 32MB
Drive: Optiarc AD-7260S-0B 24x SATA
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-500CXUK 500W
Case: Casecom MA-1199

Any help and or verification is greatly appreciated!

Cheers :D

The only thing I would change is the power supply, but only because I would feel a little skittish using that system on only 500 watts. I usually build systems like that with a minimum of 600-650 watts. Any more than that is overkill however. Not familiar with the case myself, but it looks fairly decent.

If you don't plan on overclocking, drop in an i5-2500 (notice the lack of the letter "k" on the end there) - you can save a few bucks if you don't mind not having the unlocked multiplier.

Thanks for you input! I'll check out some more PSU's. Could you recommend any fairly good budgetty ones? The Corsair one I have proposed costs about £50 so I would expect to pay just bit more than that for 600-650W I suppose. Also, I'm intrigued as to how you go about determining the wattage required in a PSU for a build like this. I checked the GPU and cPU, and supposedly it's max requirement is about 255W and 95W respectively, but wasn't sure about other components.

And yeah, I will get the standard i5-2500, didn't think about the unlocked capability. I have little intention of over-clocking, would it be inadvisable to with this motherboard anyway?

Thanks again! Your help is really appreciated :)