RAM Speed???

ace777

Fully Optimized
I have little knowledge on memory and the speeds involved. I purchased this RAM:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL

And I just noticed after 6 months of usage that the speed was off. CPU-Z was reporting 666Mhz and that the RAM is PC3-10700, which is not the case. In BIOS there was an option to set to 1600 so I set that and the voltage to 1.5 ( as it says on newegg ), I set that and it seems to be running well but CPUz is still reporting the above PC type, but the DRAM frequency is now 800 ( can someone clarify this is correct, my understanding is that this speed is correct because 800 x 2 = 1600 so its the correct speed for the RAM ) also my CAS is 11 instead of the 9 on newegg, and could someone clarify what NB frequency is mine is set to 2000? I can upload picks if that helps anyone.Thanks!

Am I to understand that you only have 2 sticks of ram (2GB each) in your computer? If you have another stick which is slower, all your RAM will run at the slower speed. Also, are you sure that the ram is compatible with your motherboard's chipset?

You're attacking several different issues here, so I'll try to break it down.

The RAM speed is now correctly set, so you're good there. It's a little more complicated than just 800 x 2, but for the scope of this response, you're fine.

The CAS timing needs to be set manually or through the EPP if your motherboard supports it (It will tell you how to use EPP in the manual) but in all honesty, CAS timings are kind of a silly thing these days since they're so high. You won't be missing substantial performance by leaving it set where it's at.